26
Oct
10

Lookin back and recapping this weekend 10-24-10

Pumpkin Patch Update:

I think we sold more pumpkins this past weekend (Friday through Monday) than we’ve sold the entire month! God is using this effort! We should be able to dig a well in Burkina Faso that will serve 1000 people for 10 years…or more! We may even have some extra to put toward other needs there as well! Can’t wait until the end of this week so we can get all the totals.

Sunday was a good day @ The Ridge. We are seeing more 2nd and 3rd time guests. That is awesome. Ridgers, keep inviting your friends. God is up to something here in our community!

Jerry was off, but the band did their usual great job. I love the fact that lately so many folks who attend the second hour are willing to stick around and help breakdown. Wow! It makes such a difference! We are getting out of the school about 40 minutes faster than normal. Love it!

NEXT SUNDAY, October 31st, we’ll have ONE GATHERING @ The Ridge at 10:30am! Don’t forget that! Invite your friends, because its gonna be a great day! Why are we doing that? Because next Sunday evening from 5:30 to 8:00pm, we’ll be hosting our Family Fall Festival at the Pumpkin Patch at the Kroger shopping plaza on Ridge Road. We still need ALL of you Rodgers to help out by decorating your car for the Trunk R Treat or volunteer by helping out serving in another way. You can sign up to volunteer in either way HERE. We are expecting a large crowd and it is an awesome opportunity to reach out to folks in our community AND raise money for Burkina Faso Missions!

 Last Sunday we talked about the 4th Beatitude: “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be filled.” (Matthew 5:6).  You can download and listen to the podcast here. Here are some of the highlights:

If I am going to truly hunger and thirst, it will mean that I have a strong desire, as if my life depends on it. This hunger and thirsting for righteousness is not a one time action but it is supposed to be a continual desire and habit of our lives.

What is this righteousness? Quite simply, it is whatever God says is to be acknowledged and obeyed by man…not what you and I THINK but what HE SAYS.

There are two types of righteousness we can pursue. The first is…self-righteous this was the righteousness of the Pharisees…this is living by what YOU think is required of man. The second is a righteousness that comes from God. God’s righteousness begins with a dissatisfaction…a deep yearning. This is when I finally realize that “God alone is righteous!”  I know that I can never attain it, so I run to the only One who can quench my thirst and satisfy my hunger….the one who has living water!

Jesus says, those who hunger and thirst after this righteousness “Shall be satisfied”…It means “filled” or more literally “saturated.”  The problem is, when we desire and seek after anything else, we’ll always fall short of being truly satisfied. Something will always be missing. Saturation only comes from hungering/thirsting…after a righteousness that comes from God.

I shared  three ways to know that you truly have a hunger and thirst for righteousness which originated from Kay Arthur:

  • I’ll have an awareness in my heart of a longing for God and His Word – Psalm 42:1-2
  • I’ll love righteousness and hate sin. I will love the things that God loves and hate the things that God hates. – Psalm 101
  • I’ll long to do God’s will. – John 4:34

We closed with a prayer of commitment together from Psalm 63:

1 O God, you are my God, earnestly I seek you; my soul thirsts for you, my body longs for you, in a dry and weary land where there is no water. 
 2 I have seen you in the sanctuary and beheld your power and your glory. 
 3 Because your love is better than life, my lips will glorify you. 
 4 I will praise you as long as I live, and in your name I will lift up my hands. 
 5 My soul will be satisfied as with the richest of foods; with singing lips my mouth will praise you.

So, what are you hungry for? What are you thirsy for? Is it satisfying you?

REMEMBER…ONE Gathering next Sunday, October 31st at 10:30am at Austin Middle School.

0 Responses to “Lookin back and recapping this weekend 10-24-10”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


