27
May
10

I wanna buy you a cup of Starbucks or lunch at Chick-fil-A…

our scouting team Nov. '08

okay all you friends in the blog world…you may be family or you may be friends from many different eras in our lives or you may only know me as an acquaintance or you may not really know me outside of this blog. Whatever the relationship, I am thankful for it and I want to buy you a cup of coffee. No, really. I want to buy you a cup of coffee or even lunch. If you have time for a cup, you have time to read this. Here’s how it will work:
I am leading a mission trip to Burkina Faso, West Africa next month. I will be leading a team of 8 from the church that I pastor, The Church At The Ridge in metro ATL. Burkina Faso is the second poorest nation in the world and the most illiterate. However, it is the least muslim nation in all of Africa (even though it is still 55% muslim). About 18 months ago, I was able to go and scout out relationships for us to begin partnering with in Burkina. Now we as a church have a chance for our first full team to go!
The door for the Gospel is wide open as there are many influential people who are believers.  The  biggest need in Burkina Faso is clean water, which opens the door for people to hear the Gospel. The capital city of Ougadougo is the only capital city in the world without its own natural water source. We are planning to finance the digging of several wells. While there our team will be working with local pastors to select sites for wells to be dug. During this 10-day trip, we will also be building TWO church buildings in two different villages out in the “bush” in areas among the Pougli people, an unreached people group. It is exciting! We will also be doing some medical team work as well as evangelism using The Jesus Film in the evenings. I will have the privilege to preach in a local church as well.

Here’s where you come in…AND the cup of coffee. I need to raise $2000 additional funds to cover my trip expenses in order to lead this trip. Airfare to Africa is very expensive. Also, we are raising money to build these churches and to dig wells in the future. If 500 people could send $10…if simply all of my fb friends could…I could cover my expenses for this trip AND have enough money to build 2 churches OR almost enough to dig one well! Just a little more than you would spend at Starbucks or at Chick Fil A for lunch.

If you’ll pray about it and send a check to our church for $10 (or more if you fell led to) I’ll buy you coffee or lunch next time I see you. Pretty good deal huh?

You can join our group on facebook: The Ridge Burkina Faso Mission Team 2010. At least, I’d ask you to join the group so that you can pray with us. I will update it as often as possible throughout the trip and after. The trip is June 18-28. You can donate HERE or you can simply send a check to The Church At The Ridge  Attn: Burkina Mission P.O. Box 1228 Hiram, GA 30141. All gifts of support are tax deductible. Make checks payable to CATR. Here is a Burkina Support Form that you can return with your check. Please pray for us and prayerfully consider supporting this amazing mission opportunity. Thanks for your friendship! I’ll look forward to buying you that cup of coffee or lunch next time I see you! 🙂

0 Responses to “I wanna buy you a cup of Starbucks or lunch at Chick-fil-A…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


