26
Jan
10

28 Years Ago…

Yesterday it was 28 years ago that I met a pretty little blond gal that had me smitten from the start. It wasn’t really the first time I had met her, but it was the first opportunity I had to actually talk to her. I had seen her from afar at church and had listened to a friend of mine’s talk of trying to woo her. However, I had not had the chance to really interact with her…until that night, January 25, 1982.

I was a freshman in college and she a senior in high school in Cleveland, TN. After work one Friday night, me and a friend went to the rival basketball game of our two local high schools. Following that game there was a March Of Dimes fundraiser dance at the local VFW. We had nothing better to do, so we decided to go over there and see what was going on. I did know a girl who had recently broken up with another friend of mine and I thought, “Hmm, maybe I could meet up with her there.”

Well, I did find that girl and we began to talk, but she was there with this pretty little blond gal named Kim. I danced one dance with this other girl and my friend danced with Kim. Then the other girl said, “Let’s switch partners!” (I think she was actually more interested in my friend). Well, wouldn’t you know it, they played 3 slow songs in a row…they never did that! One of them was this song. Well, I gotta tell you it wasn’t love at first sight, but it was “really like” at first sight. I was certainly smitten by this pretty little majorette from my rival high school across town!

Kim Beaty before she was Whipple

God put me with the perfect compliment to eventually become my partner, best friend, helpmate, companion, wife that night. It wasn’t until a few weeks later that we would have our first date…but that’s another story! 🙂 I will say this though, it was just a few months later that I would utter those words that I had never said before and have only said to one woman in my life…”I love you.”  Five and a half years later she would be my wife. My life has never been the same! I am truly a blessed man!  “Your the love of my life…your my Lady.”

 

A wife of noble character who can find? 

She is worth far more than rubies. Her husband has full confidence in her 
and lacks nothing of value.

She brings him good, not harm, all the days of her life….

Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.

 Proverbs 31:10-12, 30

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “28 Years Ago…”


  1. 1 Kendra
    January 27, 2010 at 10:33 am

    Awwwe! Happy Anniversary Steve & Kim!


Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


