11
Oct
09

Sunday Recap 10-11-09

It was a great day @ The Ridge today! We continued our One Month To Live series with the third principle to a No-Regrets Life: “Learn Humbly.”  Here’s some highlights:

  • I gotta admit, this was a tough message to prepare for and deliver and I’m sure to listen to. Anytime we talk about pride and humility, it isn’t easy. God has really been speaking to me directly about this. Pride is the root of all our sin, but it isn’t just revealed in arrogance. Shyness, worry and self-pity are all responses to pride in our lives because they are self-focused.
  • looked at several scriptures on the topic including Matthew 18:1-4, Luke 18:9-14, Mark 10:42-45 and 1 Peter 5:5
  • Pride is quite simply the worship of ME.
  • Key principle: Anytime I am focused on ME, I am dealing with PRIDE
  • Foundational Principle of  Human Enlightenment: There is a God…and you ain’t Him!
  • Pride will destroy the work of God in you…it will also destroy the work of God in and through the church.
  • I was truly humbled today in an unexpected way. I was informed in our first gathering, that today is Pastor Appreciation Day. Honestly, I didn’t even realize that. I was called up on stage along with my wife and presented with a special gift. The folks out in the congregation held up handmade signs of appreciation and encouragement. I was very surprised and overwhelmed. What I didn’t tell anyone was that I went back to the back of the room behind the curtains and wept as I thanked God for the privilege of serving Him and these people @ The Ridge. I was truly humbled and felt so unworthy. I love my peeps @ The Ridge! God has brought us a wonderful body of believers. He is putting His body here together with a group of people that get it and are so awesome to partner with in ministry.
  • After the first gathering people kept coming up to me and handing me cans of Dr. Pepper (my fav drink) and packs of Whoppers (my fav candy). After a minute i realized it was more of the appreciation day. I came away with a bunch of goodies! My fridge is stocked! My kids were happy too and already tried to get some for themselves. I shared the love. 🙂
  • After the second gathering people lined up to give me golf balls and tees. In that service I had been given a round of golf as a gift. It was really great because I got to talk individually to many people that I don’t ordinarily get to.
  • I am truly blessed and encouraged by all you Ridgers.
  • Yes I did whistle a little bit of Rocky Top at the start of the message. Couldn’t resist! 🙂 Sorry Dawgs. I’ll root for you the entire rest of the season!
  • The band did their usual stellar job. Great song set! Perfect set up to the message.
  • BTW I owe you guys some serious minutes after the last two Sundays! I promise to do better and try to make it up…famous last words, huh?
  • I am really liking the “everyone wear a nametag” policy that we started a couple of weeks ago. It is awesome to see how people are connecting and interacting better, just because they have a nametag. I like it a lot, even if no one else does. I have trouble remembering my own kids names sometimes, so I can’t ever remember everyone’s names at church.  Love it. Its a simple thing, but really effective at helping connect people.
  • Had part 2 of our Partnership class today. Loving these new families joining us @ The Ridge.
  • came home pretty exhausted. chilled a little, watched some football, then decided that I needed to mow the lawn when I saw the weather forcast for the week. My 8 year old little man helped me out though. He loves to mow and is getting better at it too. He loves to help. Love that kid!
  • Chillin this evening watching my man Peyton Manning dismantle the Tennessee Titan defense. He’s a machine.
  • Looking forward to some great days ahead @ The Ridge. God is moving and I can’t wait to see what He does!
2 Responses to “Sunday Recap 10-11-09”


  1. October 11, 2009 at 10:00 pm

    Thank YOU, Steve! We’re very blessed to have such a God-Focused, loving, caring, and smart Pastor such as yourself.

    We appreciate all you do! 🙂

  2. 2 Susan Barber
    October 12, 2009 at 5:16 am

    praying for your ministry and your church this morning.
    God bless,
    Susan


Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


