11
Sep
09

May we NEVER forget…

Today marks the 8th anniversary, if you can call it that, of the worst attack on The United States of America in our history. It is SO easy to “move on”, but it is essential that we as a nation NEVER forget those who died that day…those who were heroes that day…those who sacrificed that day…those who stepped up to lead our nation that day…those who stepped up to defend our country and freedom. Some people want us to “forget” or “move on” because of political reasons. They say its too painful for us to look at these images. I say we must look and remember…tell our kids…teach them about those who want to destroy our nation and freedom. Don’t ever forget. Freedom isn’t free.

Do YOU remember where you were that day? I was in a car repair shop dropping off my car. I couldn’t believe what I was seeing.

So where were YOU that day? Leave a comment. Pray for our nation.

6 Responses to “May we NEVER forget…”


  1. September 11, 2009 at 7:03 am

    I was at home taking care of my sick husband and two sick children. My mother called and told us to turn on the tv. I will forever remember the shock of seeing those images.

  2. September 11, 2009 at 7:32 am

    We were at home…Bill was getting ready to leave for work and had turned on sports center to check a score or something. And in a surreal way, I will always associate Charles Barkley with that day because he was talking when the news started scrolling across. We quickly turned to CNN and stood speechless as reports started coming in. I was afraid for Bill to go to work because I didn’t want him to be far if something else happened. I remember feeling very vulnerable because they had come into our country and stolen our security.

    I remember the horror of it, but along with that I remember the deep sense of camaraderie that developed among the American people because of it. We would do well to remember that time of bonding right now while our nation is fractured so acutely along political lines. We are one nation…one nation under God…whether some chose to acknowledge that or not.

  3. 3 Darrell
    September 11, 2009 at 8:39 am

    Virginia and I were in flight, coming back from a wonderful trip to Paris, France, when we suddenly felt the plane descending. It’s a long story, so I will spare you, but we spent 3 days in St John’s, Newfoundland, being loved on and cared for by some of the most kind wonderful people we have ever met. We still get a Christmas card from the family we stayed with there and occasionally e-mail with one of our fellow stranded passengers. We watched TV, cried, tried to get in touch with family,(I still have my hotmail account I set up to e-mail home and the e-mails we sent)and waited for what was going to happen next.
    We ultimatley had to fly back to Europe to get home. There is a sermon there somewhere I’m sure, but God was watching out for us and we returned home safe and sound, Friday at almost midnight. Seeing our kids come to meet us at the airport was such a beautiful sight.
    The next morning we went to our Republican Party meeting and I teared up as we recited the pledge. I still do to this day.
    It means a whole lot more to me now than it did before 911.

  4. 4 scrabblenut
    September 11, 2009 at 9:16 am

    We had just moved to Georgia from Mississippi about 4 months before September 11th. Harrison was not quite 6 months old and we were living in an apartment. Eric called me from work that morning and told me to turn on the news. I remember watching the second plane hit. I’m not sure how long I sat there staring before I realized that it was much more than a coincidence. The rest of the day is a blur. I just remember laying in bed that night feeling completely alone and scared for our future. I couldn’t imagine what kind of world my little son would be growing into. We were 400 miles away from our nearest family and everything inside me just wanted to go back home.

  5. September 11, 2009 at 10:07 am

    I stood in the car repair shop and saw the second plane hit. I called Kim and told her to turn on the tv. She already had. After I left the car repair shop to head to the office, I was pulling into the parking lot when the news came over the radio that the Pentagon had been hit. I said out loud, “Dear God, what is happening!” Then I heard the news of the plane going down in Penn. I don’t remember getting much done that day as far as work goes. I prepared a new talk for the students I would be speaking to the next night, not knowing if I would even get the chance to deliver it. It was a very surreal day. One I’ll never forget and one I pray we never have to relive.

  6. 6 Amy
    September 11, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    I was on complete bedrest awaiting the birth of my first and only child. Kenny called from work and made me promise not to turn on the TV til he got home. When he got home he lay down next to me and told me something bad had happened and then he held my hand and turned on the TV. With in a few seconds the second plane hit. I am crying now as I type this. At the time both my sister and cousin were flight attendants for Delta and both were on planes. We had to turn off the TV, I just couldn’t take it.


Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


