12
Aug
09

Coaching…

Haven’t blogged much this week or last week. It has been a crazy busy week or two and there isn’t a lot of let-up for the rest of the month.

I am really excited about a new opportunity that I had today, however. I got to connect with a new coaching group of about six church planters along with Mike Linch, the pastor at Northstar Church. We had a great time today listening first to Jeff Henderson of Buckhead Church, then hanging out for lunch together. I really think this is going to be a good group to be a part of. Really enjoyed the wisdom, shared experiences, support, encouragement and accountability that this group promises to be. I find myself very much needing these relationships more and more. Only another pastor/church planter can understand what a pastor/church planter is dealing with, going through, feeling and needing. Having someone who is further down the road than you, that you can trust, listen to, glean from is critical.

If you are a pastor or church planter and you are not participating in some sort of coaching network, you need to. I did not get involved in a formal coaching network the first year and a half of this church planting process, mainly because of the cost. In hindsight, I wish I had somehow found a way to do it. It is invaluable. I have seen a lot of guys who didn’t get coached struggle (I was struggling in some areas too) without it. I have seen and heard some who gave up too. As leaders, no matter where we are in our journey, we must always be surrounding ourselves with people who can sharpen us. I like to hang out with people who are ahead of me on the journey, at the same place as me, and a little further back from me. I learn from all of those perspectives. I’m not smart enough and I certainly don’t know what I’m doing most days. My ultimate trust and counsel is in the Lord and His wisdom from His Word, but I also know what His Word says about it:

As iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another. Proverbs 27:17

Plans fail for lack of counsel, but with many advisers they succeed. Proverbs 15:22

0 Responses to “Coaching…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


