10
May
09

Sunday Recap 5-10-09 and The Amazing Race PIT STOP for this week

This week we kicked off a new series @ The Ridge for Mother’s Day and beyond:  The Amazing Race: Leaving A Lasting Legacy. Here are some highlights:

  • Gave away some special prizes to some mothers. Bath & Body Works and Kroger gift cards. Most every mom walked out with a Longhorn card too!
  • Announced the total from our Faith Initiative Commitments at our Celebration Event last week: 105 commitments equaling a total three year commitment of $487,270!!! Wow! God is going to do something HUGE here in the near future! Several other families were not there last week to turn in their commitments, so there will be much more to come, I’m sure!
  • Had a good friend from Las Vegas with us helping lead part of our worship set today. No he’s not an Elvis impersonator! 🙂
  • Band did a great job today even though I totally messed them up and talked too long and put too many “extras” in to the service. Sorry guys! We’ll do it better next week.  These guys totally “get it” and do an amazing job each week.
  • Very excited about this new series. Today we looked at “Roadblocks to a lasting legacy”. The biggest roadblock is that we don’t really understand what a legacy is or what it means. A legacy is not about YOU or your KIDS, but is is about what is built into us and in turn built into them. If we “live the legacy” Jesus left fot us and empowers us to do by His grace and through His holy Spirit, then those behind us…our children…and others… will catch it and live it themselves as we intentionally build into their lives God’s Truth.
  • 3 John 4 says, “I have no greater joy than knowing that my children are walking in truth.” Legacy.
  • Paul said in 2 Timothy 4 that he had fought the good fight, finished the race and kept the faith. His legacy was not in that he had accomplished anything, but that he was  faithful. faithful to God’s calling and faithful to follow Jesus Christ and faithful as a disciple. Flat our, botom line, that’s what Paul’s desired legacy was.

This Week’s Amazing Race PIT STOP

A Pit Stop is a portion of the Race where you stop to refuel, repair, refresh, and renew. As we are on this Amazing Race Family Edition this month @ The Ridge, I want to give each of us a chance each week to take some time out to pause, pray, reflect, and think about what God is speaking to us. This week we talked about the “Roadblocks To A Lasting Legacy”

  • Read these scriptures form Sunday’s teaching: 2 Timothy 4:6-8; 1 Corinthians 4:16-17; 1 Thessalonians 2:18-20
  • Spend a few minutes thinking about the legacy you want to leave. How does what you honestly want to leave as a legacy compare to Paul’s  in 2 Timothy 4? When you think about the current choices and priorities of your life, what type of legacy do you think they will  lead to? Are there some changes that you need to make today in order to move you back toward a legacy of faithfully serving and following Christ?
  • God’s grace is available to forgive, cleanse, and refocus us today and that’s good news for each of us! He can use whatever time you and I  have left to bring glory and honor to Him and to impact another generation.
  • Take some time this week to actually write out what you would hope your legacy would be. Pray about it. Spend some time in God’s word this week. What do you need to do in order to take steps toward that legacy? Start a list and add to it as you feel led to by God. Then do what you can to start moving toward that objective.
3 Responses to “Sunday Recap 5-10-09 and The Amazing Race PIT STOP for this week”


  1. 1 Mike & Tootie
    May 10, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    I remember attending friend of mines funeral,Rex Nelon. As I was standing by the grave site it occurred to me. A man’s worth is not measured by how much money he leaves behind, but the number of people that attend his funeral. It meant to me that he touched somebody’s life. Good or Bad. Rex was a legend.

  2. 2 J.
    May 12, 2009 at 10:46 pm

    Recently, my uncle passed, I was very close to him. I was very upset. My best friend, who knew him, said to me, “What we do in between being born and when we die is celebrated. Not all lives are lived, some just exist between being born and when they die. Its how you treat people that is remembered, that is celebrated, a life lived is nothing to be mourned or sad about. People care when you are born and when you die, it depends what you do in between how you are remembered. I read this at his funeral – he certainly left a legacy!

  3. 3 Mike & Tootie
    May 13, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    It’s funny, when I thought who has left the biggest impression on me, it was clear it was my music theory teacher in high school. He would make me so angry because he would push me to do things I thought I was not capable of, he was extremely intelligent and would use words I didn’t understand but I soon learned what they meant. His diligence and faith in me allowed me to tackle any classical piece that came my way and the confidence to tackle competitions. Eventhough I didn’t think I liked him, when he left our school I realized he was the best thing that ever happened to me. I always do my best and work hard at everything I do because of him.


Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


