27
Mar
09

Your 10/5

As a pastor/leader in the church for the last 22+ years of my life, not mention being a minister’s kid for ALL my life, I have heard all kinds of excuses as to why people don’t go to church…or don’t go to church anymore. Here is  some perspective that I ran across a while ago, then recently saw it again. See if these are excuses you’ve heard before when it comes to the church, yet you never hear them for anything else…

Why I Stopped Going To Ball Games

  1. Whenever I go to a game, they ask for money.
  2. The other fans don’t care about me.
  3. The seats are too hard.
  4. Coach never visits me.
  5. The referee makes calls I don’t agree with.
  6. Some of the games go into overtime and make me late for dinner.
  7. The band plays songs I don’t know.
  8. I have other things to do at game time.
  9. My parents took me to too many games when I was growing up.
  10. I know more than the coaches do anyway.
  11. I can be just as good a fan at the lake.
  12. I won’t take my kids to a game either.  They must choose for themselves which teams to follow.

As we approach Easter, we are challenging you Ridgers to invite 10 individuals or 5 families… your 10/5… to Easter @ The Ridge. Surveys of those who do not attend church regularly show that 80% said they would attend church on Easter if someone invited them and went with them. So, no matter what excuses people have, if you ask them to come, it is very likely that they will. So, who are your 10/5?

If any of the above are your excuses or have been your excuses, ask yourself this: “Would I make these excuses about attending a ball game? Do I make these kind of excuses about other things in life? Do I need to just get over it and get myself and my family where we need to be?”

Why not start this Easter @ The Ridge?! Better yet, why not start THIS SUNDAY! See you at 9:30 or 11:00AM! We are kicking off an amazing challenging series. Don’t miss The Wild Goose Chase series. This Sunday we are looking at 1 Samuel 14. Cool story. Read up on it, then join us as we go on a Wild Goose Chase together!

wildgoosechase_sign-copy

0 Responses to “Your 10/5”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


