18
Mar
09

How’s your Fast?

This past Sunday, we challenged the church to a 40-Day fast as part of our Wild Goose Chase Faith Initiative. Many people are fasting from a variety of things, from internet, to facebook, to TV, to meals. I believe that all you Ridgers who are participating in this 40-day Fast are going to be blessed in amazing ways!

Let me encourage you. The first couple of days can be hard, just getting started. The next week or so will be easier as you get into a pattern. THEN the middle 10-15 days will be tough. Kinda like getting over the hump. Stay with it! It is worth it. If you mess up and drop your fast, it’s okay. Just pick it up and move forward. The last week will be exhilarating (even though it will be tough still) because you are on the home stretch of it.

Remember, as we said Sunday, this 40-Day experience is not about changing your behavior, it is about God changing your identity. It is also about us as a church seeking His face and His will as we embark on a three year faith initiative. Be encouraged! Don’t lose sight of what God may be calling you to do…”deny yourself, take up your cross and follow Him.”

Denying yourself will be tough in this journey. It isn’t something that you can just decide to set aside. You have to grab selfishness by the throat and kill it! If you don’t, it will come back and rule your life. We have to be serious about dying to self. If not we will never be victorious. I know I struggle with this all the time. But  that imagery was summed up best by David Nassar in his book A Call To Die. Here’s what he said:

Don’t be shocked when the Holy Spirit taps you on the shoulder, points to something in your life and says, “My friend, you love this more than you love Me. I will help you tear it from your heart and put Me there.” You will find a dozen reasons to leave it right where it is. Your heart will plead for more time or another chance. Be ruthless. Be brutal. Don’t start to bargain. Grab the dragon by the throat and slay it with the Sword of Truth (the Bible). Don’t listen to it plead or scream. Be done with it. The devil does not go easy on us. If you try to get rid of the sin gradually, it will find a way to hang on and you will be defeated. The quicker method is harsh, but it is the only effective way to deal with sin. Ask God to help you not get hung up on excuses for your sin.

Well said!

Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me. For whoever wants to save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for me will find it. –  Matthew 16:24-25


2 Responses to “How’s your Fast?”


  1. 1 Bryan Roy
    March 18, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    It’s only been three days but God is working wonders in our household. The bigest thing is our added family time Rachel loves the family game time. I do as well but don’t tell anyons.looking forward to the weeks ahead i believe these next 37 + days will do wonders for us as a family.

  2. March 24, 2009 at 8:52 am

    My heart is really stirring. this past Sunday’s teaching, really hit home….I really needed that. I find myself craving for more readings….instead of just reading the verses…I have been reading the entire chapter…sometimes I find myself reading ahead….LOL I guess thats what they call reenforcement LOL..it’s like I can’t get enough….this goose chase couldn’t come at a better time in my life….Thank you God for being so patient with me…..


Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


