27
Nov
08

Thankful

While in Africa a couple of weeks ago, it was very convicting the things we take for granted. I came to appreciate many things…even the simple things. I am thankful for many things this Thanksgiving, so I thought I’d show you a few of them.

I’m thankful for my kids and my amazing wife and best friend, Kim.

kidsatsector30
I’m thankful for my truck and van…even when they are broken! I’m thankful to those who help keep them running and especially to those who graciously gave me assistance when my truck broke down last month!

man-on-bike

I’m thankful for my home and my bed.

its-not-a-bed-its-a-rughouses

I’m thankful for God’s provision to feed our family. In Burkina Faso, if you get one meal a day you are considered middle class. 1 in every 3.4 children do not live to age 10.

eating toeI’m thankful that God has allowed me to lead The Church @ The Ridge and that He has given us a great space to meet in. You Ridgers are a great group of people! I thank God for you. This is the church building in the village of Fin (pronounced Feen), 60 people gather here each week for worship. (we should never ever complain about the benches WE sit on each Sunday! 🙂 )

church-in-finI’m thankful for the power of prayer and God’s faithfulness in my life…even when I’m not so faithful. This is the little girl Camu, who was dying of Malaria as we came into the village of Fin.

camuHer sister had died two weeks earlier. Her grandmother had taken her to the witch doctor, but she wasn’t getting better (really?!). The grandmother was not a believer, but when these white men drove into her village, she brought Camu to us and to Pastor Ezekiel, who ministers in that village. She asked us to pray to Jesus for her. We all did and two days later we got word that Camu was completely healed! Praise the Lord! This will elevate the Lord and that church in that village, showing the power of Jesus was greater than the power of the witch doctor. I am thankful that God answers prayer! There is power if we just have faith!

Those are just a few of the things that God showed me that I should be thankful for. Simple things, basic things. I’d love to hear what YOU are thankful for.

1 Response to “Thankful”


  1. December 1, 2008 at 7:41 pm

    These pictures make me miss what I have become to call Africa “my home away from home”. I can’t wait to get back. I am praying hard that God will use you and the church to do great things in BF


Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


