11
Nov
08

It ain’t over ’til it’s over!

That famous line from baseball great Yogi Berra is the best way to describe our trip to Burkina Faso right now. Our flight from Ouagadougou to Paris was canceled tonight. It seems that the plane sucked a bird into an engine upon landing as it came into Ouaga this afternoon. The engine was damaged to the point that it was not safe for the plane to fly. I’m thankful for the cancellation for safety. I really have no desire to crash land in the Sahara Desert.

So, for some reason, we are supposed to spend another day here in Burkina. Our trip is delayed an entrie 24 hours. Instead of arriving in Atlanta at 1:30pm Wednesday, it will be 1:30pm Thursday.

Air France did put us up in a fairly nice hotel downtown and provided 4 meals at the hotel restaurant. So I guess its a night to chill and a day to do nothing. I’ll likely read and do some prep for Sunday as long as my computer battery holds up. (I can’t plug in here at this hotel because I have no international adapter…didn’t need one where we were before)

I’m really ready to be home, as is our whole team. I miss my family and I know they miss dad (and hubby) too. Hopefully, this will be the only delay. Pray for no more problems.

1 Response to “It ain’t over ’til it’s over!”


  1. November 11, 2008 at 7:16 pm

    Sir, I should have warned you about that. I have been cancelled out of Africa so many times I usually expect it and am pleasantly surprised when I do get home on time. Good luck and will be keeping the team in my prayers!


Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


