14
Mar
08

Birthdays

Today is my wife’s birthday. She is an amazing woman and I am definitely undeserving of her. God has blessed me with her for the last 26 years, 21 of which we have been married. I cannot imagine a more perfect mate, partner, best friend, lover, wife, support, advisor and more!  I love her with all my heart and I thank God for her every day. I am truly a blessed man.

This week begins the “birthday season” here at the Whipple house. Well, The “pre”season might actually start in January. We have one birthday Jan. 18 (my 4 yr. old) . Then comes March where my oldest had her 17th birthday this week (the 12th) and today is my wife’s birthday. Following this month things really get into full swing; we will have a birthday April 24th (my daughter’s 15th) followed by May 7th (daughter’s 8th), May 16th (daughter’s 1st), May 29th (son’s 12th) and finally wrap up “the season” June 6th (my daughter’s 10th) – which also will be our 21st anniversary. For those of you keeping score at home, that last stretch is 5 birthdays and one anniversary in 6 weeks. My other son and I are the odd men out. His is in October (that’ll be his 7th) and mine is in December. So in reality, in 9 months there are 10 birthdays and one anniversary, not to mention Christmas and all the other holidays that fall between October and June.

Needless to say, though, spring is a crazy season here! But I love it! It is a celebration each year of the blessings God has given us. It is also a reminder each year of how brief a time we have with those blessings. I can’t believe that my oldest is 17 and will be graduating in a year. I am reminded each time the candles blow out that I have a huge responsibility as a parent and I have such a short amount of time to mold and shape them and point them to God and His purposes for their lives.

Sons are a heritage from the LORD, children a reward from him. Like arrows in the hands of a warrior are sons born in one’s youth. Blessed is the man whose quiver is full of them. They will not be put to shame when they contend with their enemies in the gate. Psalm 127:3-4

I pray that we will be parents who will never lose sight of God’s plans for our family. I also pray that, with His grace, these “arrows” will fly straight and true in the direction they are aimed and will make an impact when they reach their destination:  another generation.

0 Responses to “Birthdays”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


