04
Mar
08

What I learned from my mom

Today would have been my mom’s 74th birthday. She went home to be with the Lord nearly 11 years ago. It is hard to believe that it has been that long. Well, I thought today, I would honor my mom with some of the things I learned from her (and my dad too) along the way.

  • First and foremost, I learned about Jesus. I remember the day in 1974 as a young 6th grader during a revival meeting that my mom said, “I’ll go with you.” and she walked with me down the aisle of our church and my dad met us at the front of the church where the preacher led me in a prayer; and I put my faith in Jesus and became a Christ-follower.
  • I learned a respect for God’s Word.
  • I learned how to make those chocolate oatmeal “plop” cookies! YUM!
  • I learned from my mom that there was a certain new blonde girl at church that I should go out with. That girl later became my wife. Mom knew it when she saw her!
  • I learned that God had a special plan for my life and that I should pursue it with all my heart.
  • I learned that “all things work together for good…”
  • I learned that family is important…and may at one time or another be all the friends you have.
  • I learned that Christmas is the best holiday.
  • I learned how to be a giver.
  • I learned that “when you’ve done it unto the least of these, you’ve done it unto Me” is not to be just a slogan, but a part of our lives.
  • I learned that boundaries are important in our lives and the lives of our family
  • I learned how it is possible to love a lot of children in the same family equally.
  • I learned the promise of Jeremiah 29:11 is relevant to all of our lives, no matter what past challenges, difficulties, or experiences we have had.
  • I learned to laugh…at life…at myself…with others.
  • I learned how to make sweet tea! 🙂
  • I learned how to listen…even though I’m not always good at it still!
  • I learned to “Never sacrifice the permanent on the altar of the immediate.”

Thanks mom!

3 Responses to “What I learned from my mom”


  1. 1 scrabblenut
    March 4, 2008 at 4:51 pm

    very sweet… makes me stop and think about the legacy that I am leaving for my children.

  2. 2 Matt
    March 4, 2008 at 11:46 pm

    Aw, that was great Steve. Sometimes I think I take my parents for granted, and forget about all the stuff they do for me.

    Thanks for posting this. 🙂

  3. March 7, 2008 at 8:35 am

    Steve, my mom is still here with me. She is with her mom at the hospital. I am going to call them both at 10. Thank you for writing and getting me all emotional about my mom and grandmother.


Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


