21
Dec
07

Chasing Christmas…

I have spent the last several days finishing up Christmas shopping. We don’t usually do a lot for any one individual (with 8 kids, 1 or 2 gifts is usually enough to make Christmas big by most family’s standards 🙂 ). That is usually the way it goes: a couple of gifts from mom and dad and the kids draw names to shop for one another. We give each of them $5 to shop for each parent. They can put it together and get something or buy separately. They enjoy coming up with something creative for under $5. It is pretty fun actually to take them shopping for mom that way! Kim and I usually put a limited budget of less than $50 to shop for one another. I like to see how many gifts I can get her for that amount of money. This year I got 6 things for less than $50. I think she cheated and went over the budget a little! 🙂

All this last 2 weeks I have been “chasing Christmas” all over. As I was going to and from appointments and meetings and church-related errands, I would try and run into a store and pick up an item here and there. I would come home and Kim would go out and do some gift shopping in the evenings. All of this can be tiring because it tends to stretch it out so long. I think I’ve been to Wal-Mart 4 times in the last 3 days and Kroger at least once a day. I felt like I’ve been “chasing Christmas” everywhere this last 2 weeks. AAAGGHH!

Isn’t this what we are always saying we shouldn’t do, but we get caught up in it anyway. I love to give gifts, but I have to stop myself or I will do too much. Then I get caught up in the NEED to give someone something rather than just giving for the joy of it.

2000 years ago some shepherds received some great news and they chased after it…

When the angels had left them and gone into heaven, the shepherds said to one another, “Let’s go to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has told us about.” So they hurried off and found Mary and Joseph, and the baby, who was lying in the manger. When they had seen him, they spread the word concerning what had been told them about this child, and all who heard it were amazed at what the shepherds said to them. (Luke 2:15-18)

They CHASED after the Good News, the Gospel, the Hope of all mankind.

Then some wise men from the east came chasing the same thing…

…they went on their way, and the star they had seen in the east went ahead of them until it stopped over the place where the child was. When they saw the star, they were overjoyed. On coming to the house, they saw the child with his mother Mary, and they bowed down and worshiped him. Then they opened their treasures and presented him with gifts of gold and of incense and of myrrh. (Matthew 2:9b-11)

They CHASED after the King of kings and worshiped Him.

What am I chasing with all of this shopping and stuff? Nothing wrong with giving gifts, but am I chasing after something good at the expense of something greater? What kind of “Christmas” are you chasing this year?

0 Responses to “Chasing Christmas…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


