24
Dec
12

Christmas is a time of Expectancy…

When you think of Christmas is your heart full of Expectancy or Expectations? The answer to that question will determine whether you experience miracles and the glory of God or disappointment and disillusionment.

Expectations are things that I decide that I want…at Christmas, in life, in relationships, at church. Usually I have to work hard to make these things even come close to happening. When they don’t work out like I expected, I am disappointed and can get disillusioned…even to the point of giving up.

Expectancy on the other hand is exciting and unknown. When I approach God with expectancy, then I am trusting HIM, not ME. If I come to Jesus with a heart of expectancy this Christmas, I am simply anticipating Him to do something miraculous in my life. If not here on this earth nor in a way that I expect, I can trust that whatever He is doing is going to be for my best.

The ultimate expectancy is in eternity. If you have truly put your faith in Jesus as your Savior, then you can look with expectancy to Jesus second coming where He will make all things right in this broken world. Your expectations won’t matter because He will do all that He has promised. Everything in God’s Word will be fulfilled.

That is why Christmas matters. Jesus came the first time to make a way for us to know God and to be made right with Him. Our sins are forgiven and our debt for sin has been paid. Jesus paid the price by dying in our place on the cross and conquered sin and death by rising from the grave! That is the Hope of Christmas!

He returned to heaven with this promise:

 “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you?And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also.And you know the way to where I am going.Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.(John 14:1-4,6)

 If you still have expectations that are unfulfilled, why not lay them aside and put your trust in the only WAY…Jesus. Then you can look forward with expectancy in life knowing that He has it all in control.

 Jesus isn’t  “A-way in a manger” He is “THE -Way in the manger”! Merry Christmas!

“For God so loved the world, that he gave his only Son, that whoever believes in him should not perish but have eternal life.” (John 3:16)

0 Responses to “Christmas is a time of Expectancy…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Pages

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Archives


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,545 other followers

